And Then There were 15-Mindfulness In Life and Leadership

Leave the first response October 11, 2011 / Posted in Mindful Business, Mindful Leadership, Mindfulness

guan-yin nobel-medal1

Today was added the 13th, 14th and 15th women who have received the Nobel Peace Prize. These women Nobel Prize winners, many who you will not have known until you read about them, embody mindfulness.

The first nine women Peace Prize winners you can read about in this article on the Nobel Prize website in the words of the individuals who presented these women their awards.
Baroness Bertha von Suttner 1905
Jane Addams 1931
Emily Green Balch 1946
Betty Williams 1976
Mariead Corrigan 1976
Mother Teresa 1979
Alva Myrdal 1982
Aung San Suu Kyi 1991
Rogoberta Menchu Tum 1992
Jody Williams 1997
Shrin Ebadi 2003
Wangari Maathai 2004
Ellen Johnson Sirleaf 2011
Leymah Gbowee 2011
Tawakkul Karman 2011

The Nobel Peace Prize 2011 was awarded jointly to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work”. shares a list of the past awardees and nominees where mindfulness impacted their life and their work as with the 15 women Nobel Peace Prize winners.

You will want to visit for their many offerings to further your study, understanding and practical practice of mindfulness.

Congratulations to 2011’s laureates: Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian peace activist Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman of Yemen, who were together recognized for, as the New York Times put it, “their nonviolent role in promoting peace, democracy and gender equality.”

From the archives:
Martin Luther King Jr.

In 1964, Martin Luther King Jr. became the youngest person to receive the Nobel Peace Prize for his work to end racial segregation and racial discrimination through civil disobedience and other nonviolent means. By the time of his death in 1968, he had refocused his efforts on ending poverty and stopping the Vietnam War.

Surrendered to Love: Bell Hooks explains how Martin Luther King’s vision of life based on a love ethic could heal our world.
Thich Nhat Hahn

Thich Nhat Hahn is a Buddhist monk, teacher, author, poet and peace activist. He was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize by Martin Luther King Jr. in 1967. He remains active in the peace movement, promoting non-violent solutions to conflict.

There is no path to peace. The path is peace.: Thich Nhat Hahn talks to U.S. Congress about changing our society’s foundation of violence.
Mahatma Gandhi

A pivotal figure in India’s history, and one of the most well-known representatives of non-violence in the 20th century, Gandhi was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize in 1937, 1938, 1939, 1947 and 1948, the year he was murdered. The omission has been publicly regretted by later members of the Nobel Committee.

The Global Gandhi: According to Gandhi, inner transformation is the key to social change. Can it be applied to the climate crisis? An exploration by Diana Calthorpe Rose of the Garrison Institute.
Dalai Lama

His Holiness the XIVth Dalai Lama, Tenzin Gyatso, is the spiritual leader of the Tibetan people. The Dalai Lama was named the 1989 winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in recognition of his nonviolent campaign over nearly 40 years to end China’s domination of his homeland.

Studying Mind from the Inside: The true nature of the mind, says the Dalai Lama, is beyond any concept or physical form, and therefore it cannot be studied solely by third-person, scientific methods. Mind must also be studied through a rigorous observation of our own subjective experience.

Leave the first response Subscribe via RSS

Join the discussion by leaving a comment...

How do I change my avatar?

Go to and upload your preferred avatar.

Please visit WP-Admin > Options > Snap Shots and enter the Snap Shots key. How to find your key